Finding a Commercial Designer and Installer

 
Air-source heat pump contractors must sign up to design and install systems that will receive rebates from MassCEC by completing the Primary Designer/Installer Agreement and meeting the training requirements described below.

 

Getting Started

If you are considering installing a variable refrigerant flow (VRF) project and haven’t identified a firm to design and install the system, MassCEC recommends reading the training requirements and other guidance below to help you evaluate potential contractors. MassCEC also recommends working with a manufacturing representative based on the kind of equipment you intend to install. Regional manufacturing representatives are listed below.

 

Manufacturer Contact Name Email Phone Manufacturer Website
Carrier Patrick Sullivan psullivan@dcne.com 781-322-8804 www.carriervrf.com
Daikin Steven Smith steven.smith2@daikincomfort.com 603-892-5480 www.daikin.com
Fujitsu Cameron Brown cbrown@fujitsugeneral.com 201-787-3512 www.airstagevrf.com
LG Eric Peters eric.peters@lge.com 603-401-5007 www.lg-vrf.com
Mitsubishi Greg Hosselbarth ghosselbarth@hvac.mea.com 508-688-9836 www.mehvac.com
Samsung Evan Miller emiller@criticalsystemsllc.com 617-308-9694 www.samsunghvac.com
Trane Mitsubishi Michael Carey michael.carey@trane.com 978-737-3794 www.trane.com/ductless

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Training Requirements

VRF projects are complex, “applied” systems, and MassCEC requires that the designer has a Professional Engineer license. Either the designer or another member of the design team must also complete a one-day manufacturer training course. If these requirements are not met, a manufacturer can provide a letter on verifying that the designer has sufficient expertise to design VRF systems and requesting that MassCEC grant a waiver from the requirements.

VRF projects can be installed by well-trained contractors. MassCEC requires that within past 5 years installers have completed at least 16 hours of training for VRF projects.

 

Plan and spec versus Design-build

Plan and Spec or “design/bid/build” projects have an architect or engineer design the building plans and specifications. A solicitation is then issued requesting contractor proposals. Each interested contractor reviews the plans and specifications and may opt to submit a bid. The building owner selects a winning bidder based on price, qualifications, or other factors.

Design-Build projects are typically smaller jobs or retrofits where the building owner opts to forgo the bidding process and instead selects a single contractor to complete all design and engineering work on the building. For VRF projects, designers are often manufacturer or distributor representatives with extensive experience designing this type of system.

 

List of Participating Designers and Installers

Updated 2/1/2019

Below is a list of VRF designers and contractors who have signed up to install VRF and/or mini-split systems through this program. We strongly recommend that system designers and/or manufacturing representatives fill out and submit the application form onbehalf of system owners.

Disclaimer: The Massachusetts Clean Energy Center (MassCEC) has not investigated, and expressly disclaims any duty to investigate, any company, product, service, process, procedure, design, or the like, which may be presented on the aforementioned websites. The presentation of these website links does not constitute endorsement, warranty, or guaranty, by MassCEC of any company, product, service, process, procedure, design, or the like. Te entire risk of any information presented is assumed by the user.

 

City County Company Designer/ Installer Name Email Phone Designer (VRF) Installer (VRF)
Lunenburg Worcester A&R Mechanical, Inc. Peter Farnsworth adam.morton@a-rmechanical.com 978-790-3635   X
Norfolk Norfolk A.J. Roberto Mechanical Austin Ludy austin@AJRobertoMechnical.com 508-384-5091   X
Burlington Middlesex Air Purchases John Davison jdavison@airpurchases.com 508-272-1553 X  
Burlington Middlesex Air Purchases Tim Conrad tconrad@airpurchases.com 508-272-1553 X  
Sudbury Middlesex Allied Consulting Engineering Services Christiane Perrin christiane@alliedconsulting.net 978-443-7888 X  
Sudbury Middlesex Allied Consulting Engineering Services John Wood johnw@alliedconsulting.net 978-443-7888 X  
Sudbury Middlesex Allied Consulting Engineering Services Mike Zimmerman mikez@alliedconsulting.net 978-443-7888 X  
Sudbury Middlesex Allied Consulting Engineering Services Paul Laurence paul@alliedconsulting.net 978-443-7888 X  
Cumberland (ME) Portland Allied Engineering, Inc. Anthony Davis adavid@allied.eng.com 207-221-2260 X  
Essez Haverhill AMT HVAC Corp Steve Nguygen info@amthvac.com 978-771-2232   X
Manchester (NH) Hillsborough API of New Hampshire Daniel Smith dsmith@apiofnh.com 603-568-8509 X  
Boston Suffolk Architectural Engineers, Inc.  Jonathan Brenton jbrenton@arcengrs.com 617-807-1678 X  
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Brian Hathon bhathon@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Joseph Gratta jgratta@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Mark Dion mdion@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Steve St. Ogne sogne@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Wayne Hall whall@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X
Manchester (NH) Hillsborough API of New Hampshire Daniel Smith dsmith@apiofnh.com 603-568-8509 X  
Boston Suffolk Architechtural Engineers, Inc. Jonathan Brenton jbrenton@arcengrs.com 617-807-1678 X  
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Brian Hathon bhathon@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Joseph Gratta jgratta@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Mark Dion mdion@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Steve St. Ogne sogne@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Wayne Hall whall@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X
Andover Essex B2Q Associates Janne Kairento jkairento@b2qassociates.com 978-210-7397 X  
Littleton Middlesex BLW Engineers Ken Beck kbeck@blwengineers.com 978-486-4301 X  
North Andover Essex Callahan A/C & Heating Services Christopher Petzke cpetzke@callahanac.com 978-270-7495 X X
Woburn Middlesex Capco Energy Supply Walter Byrnes walter@capcosupply.com 781-721-0303 X  
Pittsfield Berkshire Climate HVAC Richard Laureyns rlaureyns@climatehvac.com 413-684-5100 X X
Pittsfield Berkshire Climate HVAC Stephen Wellington swellington@climatehvac.com 413-684-5100 X  
Colrain Franklin Climates by Pomeroy Samual Pomeroy climatesbypomeroy@gmail.com 413-522-4737   X
Pittsfield Berkshire Comfort Control Mechanical Brad Morawski bradjmx4@gmail.com 413-269-3611 X X
Pembroke Plymouth Commercial Boiler Systems Christian Ricardo service@snowmelters.com 774-381-9332   X
Pembroke Plymouth Commercial Boiler Systems Jennifer Sisco jsisco@snowmelters.com 781-294-4437   X
Boston Suffolk Commercial Construction Consulting Brian Kaplinger bkaplinger@c3boston.com 617-330-9390   X
Johnston Province Continental Engineering Richard Dirocco sr@continentaleng.com 4012332665   X
Cranston Province Creative Environment Corp Anthony Gray AGray@CEC-Engineering.com 401-438-7733 X  
Cranston Province Creative Environment Corp Michael Peterson Mpeterson@CEC-Engineering.com 401-438-7733 X  
Boston Suffolk Critical Systems  Evan J Miller emiller@criticalsystemsllc.com 617-308-9694 X  
New Ipweich Hillsborough Design Day Mechanical, Inc. Andrew Arsenault andya@designdaymech.com 207-337-2473 X  
Rowley Essex Dry Air Company, Inc.  Seth Heisler chuck@dryairsystemsinc.com     X
Billerica Middlesex DTC, Inc. Jesse Vose jesse.vose@teamdtc.com 978-475-2935 X  
Peabody Essex DXS - New England Brian Keenan brian.keenan@dxseng.com 603-303-8933 X  
Peabody Essex DXS - New England Adam Camillo adam.camillo@dsxeng.com 978-977-9911 X  
Peabody Essex DXS - New England Robert Ciampa robert.ciampa@dxseng.com 978-548-5356 X  
Pittsfield Berkshire EDM, Inc Michael Puntin mpuntin@edm-ae.com 413-443-2374 X  
Dedham Norfolk Energy Engineering and Design, Inc. David Ward dave@energyengineeringinc.com 781-775-2698 X  
Bristol Attleboro Environmental Systems Robert Kelley RKelley@esihvac.com 508-226-6006 X X
Bristol Attleboro Environmental Systems Tim Smith TSmith@esihvac.com 508-226-6006   X
Malden Middlesex Evolved Mechanical Jason Moriarty office@evolvedmechanical.com 781-324-2560   X
Dalton Berkshire Four Season Heating & Cooling Michael Laureyns mikel@4seasonshvacr.com   x  
Weymouth Norfolk Fred Williams, Inc Jim Sullivan jsullivan@fwilliams.com 781-961-1500 x311   X
Springfield Hampden F.W. Webb Company Jeffrey Baird jeff.baird@fwwebb.com 413-222-8515 X  
South Deerfield Franklin Gates HVACR John Gates gateshvacr@hotmail.com 413-774-9482   X
Lincoln (RI) Providence GEM Mechanical Services Patrick Caldarone pcaldarone@gemplumbing.com 401-830-7000   X
Westfield Hampden Girard Heating and Cooling Robert Girard bob@girardheatcool.com 413-568-2946   X
Wareham Plymouth Griffith & Vary, Inc. Wayne Mattson wmattson@griffithandvary.com 508-295-0050 X  
Wareham Plymouth Griffith & Vary, Inc. David Hipolito DHipolito@griffithandvary.com 508-295-0050 X  
Burlington Middlesex Grinnell Mechanical Mike Grinnell mgrinnell@grinnellmech.com 781-273-1835   X
Springfield Hampden Harry Grodsky & Co Chris Cianci ccianci@grodsky.com 413-246-0626 X X
Berkshire Adams Hesnor Engineerign Associates John Kirby JKirby@hesnor.com 413-743-9500 X  
Leverett Franklin Jamrog HVAC Inc. Daniel Shea nicole@jamroghvac.com 413-548-9024   X
Chicopee Hampden Johnstone Supply John Silk john.silk@johnstonesupply.com 413-718-1721 X  
Buzzards Bay Barnstable MJD Plumbing & Heating, Inc Mathew J DeMoranville mattdemoranville@mjdph.com 774-425-2039   X
Quincy Norfolk MacDougall Plumbing & Mechanical Paul MacDougall pauljr@macdougallmechanical.com 617-698-6740   X
Boston Middlesex MacRitchie Engineering, Inc. Bruce MacRitchie bmatritchie@macritchie.net 781-848-4464 x12 X  
Reading Middlesex Madden Services Neil Madden maddenservicesinc@outlook.com 878-858-9067   X
Weymouth Norfolk N.B. Kenney Robert Garvey bgarvey@nbkenney.com 978-399-3706   X
Tyngsboro Middlesex New England Cooling Towers Mark Amorelli marca@nectowers.com 508-889-3817   X
Norfolk Milton New England Ductless Joseph Wood   781-995-2665   X
Middlesex Concord Norian/Siani Engineering Matthew Bean mattb@ns-engineering.com 781-398-2250 X  
Plymouth Plymouth Northstar Mechanical, Inc. Adam Loud scott@northstarhvac.net 508-888-3692   X
Pittsfield Berkshire Pariseau Heating Inc. Stephen Wichmann stephen@pariseauheating.com 413-442-8516 X X
Needham Norfolk Performance Air Conditioning Scott Redfield sred_7@msn.com 781-589-6240   X
Rockingham (NH) Portsmouth Petersen Engineering Chuck Dudas chuck@petersenengineering.com 603-436-4233    
Natick Middlesex Pheonix Mechanical Steven Swinarski sswinarski@pheonixmechanical.com 774-571-5343   X
Boston Suffolk PJ Kennedy & Sons Joeseph Smith joes@pjkennedy.com 617-446-8000   X
Weymouth Norfolk PJ Mechanical Janusz Czajkowski info@pjhvac.com 617-770-9518   X
North Billerica Middlesex The Portland Group John Richards jmr@theportlandgroup.com 978-361-5455 X  
Topsfield Essex Preferred Air Bob Smith bsmith910@hotmail.com 978-750-8282   X
Webster Worcester Quail Services Bill Fongeallaz bilfon@aol.com 228-239-5558   X
Webster Worcester Quail Services James Parent jamesparent@quailservice 508-713-5808   X
Andover Essex RDK Engineers Nicholas Hill nhill@rdkengineers.com 978-296-6255 X  
Andover Essex RDK Engineers Phil Marcotty pmarcotty@rdkengineers.com 978-296-6255 X  
North Reading Middlesex Richard Skiffington Consultants & Design Rick Skiffington ricks@charm.com 781-760-7775 X X
    Robt. W. Hall Consulting Engineers Robert Griffiths RGriffiths@rwhall.com 413-789-0960 X  
Gardner Worchester Royal Steam Heater Co. Douglas Dansereau kdembek@royalsteamheater.com 978-632-0770   X
Westwood Norfolk RST Thermal/ TE2 Engineering, LLC Ross Trethewey ross@te2engineering.com 781-334-8323 X  
Greenfield Franklin Sandri Energy Joel Tognarelli jtognarelli@sandri.com 413-772-2121   X
Millbury Worcester Seaman Engineering Corp. Kevin Seaman kevin@seamanengineers.com 508-865-1400 X  
Wilmington Middlesex S.G. Torrice Co. Daniel Carroll III dcarroll@sgtorrice.com 603-505-6636 X  
Hanover Plymouth South Shore Engineering Team Inc. Garett Pennucci ssetinc@aol.com 781-331-4660 X  
South Yarmouth Barnstable  South Shore Heating &Cooling Ron Almeida ron.almeida@southshoreheatingcooling.com 508-398-6901    
New Haven (CT) New Haven Star Supply Company Warren Bean wbean@star-supply.com 413-329-2013 X  
Norfolk Westwood Suburbau HVAC, Inc. Mark McEvoy MMcEvoy@suburbau-HVAC.com 781-769-1515   X
Belchertown Hampshire Swift River HVAC James F. Bachand Jr. swift4123@aol.com 413-323-4123   X
Norfolk Foxboro TJ's Plumbing and Heating, Inc. Timothy Cutler TCutler@tjsradiantheat.com 508-226-5514 X X
Woburn Middlesex VAV International, Inc. Patrick Manning pmanning@vavint.com 781-935-7228 X  
Chatham Barnstable W. V. Whiteley, Inc. Donald Hebert dhebert@wvwhiteley.com 508-945-1100   X
Boston Suffolk WSP Matthew Hayes matthew.hayes@wsp.com 617-210-1600 X  
Boston Suffolk WSP Nicholas Chiarelli nicholas.chiarelli@wsp.com 617-210-1600 X