Finding a Commercial Designer and Installer

 
Air-source heat pump contractors must sign up to design and install systems that will receive rebates from MassCEC by completing the Primary Designer/Installer Agreement and meeting the training requirements described below.

 

Getting Started

If you are considering installing a variable refrigerant flow (VRF) or large-scale mini-split heat pump project and haven’t identified a firm to design and install the system, MassCEC recommends reading the training requirements and other guidance below to help you evaluate potential contractors. MassCEC also recommends working with a manufacturing representative based on the kind of equipment you intend to install. Regional manufacturing representatives are listed below. If you have a small-scale mini-split project (up to 20 single-head units or 240 kBTU/hr of multi-head capacity), please visit this page instead.

 

Manufacturer Contact Name Email Phone Manufacturer Website
Carrier Patrick Sullivan psullivan@dcne.com 781-322-8804 www.carriervrf.com
Daikin Steven Smith steven.smith2@daikincomfort.com 603-892-5480 www.daikin.com
Fujitsu Cameron Brown cbrown@fujitsugeneral.com 201-787-3512 www.airstagevrf.com
Hitachi Doug Viger dviger@air-distribution.com 508-922-5124 www.smartflex-hvac.com
LG Eric Peters eric.peters@lge.com 603-401-5007 www.lg-vrf.com
Mitsubishi Greg Hosselbarth ghosselbarth@hvac.mea.com 508-688-9836 www.mehvac.com
Samsung Evan Miller emiller@criticalsystemsllc.com 617-308-9694 www.samsunghvac.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Training Requirements

VRF projects are complex, “applied” systems, and MassCEC requires that the designer has a Professional Engineer license. Either the designer or another member of the design team must also complete a one-day manufacturer training course. If these requirements are not met, a manufacturer can provide a letter on verifying that the designer has sufficient expertise to design VRF systems and requesting that MassCEC grant a waiver from the requirements.

Mini-split projects typically require a smaller amount of design work than for VRF projects. Because of this, MassCEC does not require a designated designer, and the installer can act as the designer.

Both VRF and Mini-Split projects be installed by well-trained contractors. MassCEC requires that within past 5 years installers have completed at least 16 hours of training for VRF projects or 4 hours of training for mini-splits.

 

Plan and spec versus Design-build

Plan and Spec or “design/bid/build” projects have an architect or engineer design the building plans and specifications. A solicitation is then issued requesting contractor proposals. Each interested contractor reviews the plans and specifications and may opt to submit a bid. The building owner selects a winning bidder based on price, qualifications, or other factors.

Design-Build projects are typically smaller jobs or retrofits where the building owner opts to forgo the bidding process and instead selects a single contractor to complete all design and engineering work on the building. For VRF projects, designers are often manufacturer or distributor representatives with extensive experience designing this type of system.

 

List of Participating Designers and Installers

Updated 9/28/2018

Below is a list of VRF designers and contractors who have signed up to install VRF and/or mini-split systems through this program. We strongly recommend that system designers and/or manufacturing representatives fill out and submit the application form onbehalf of system owners.

Disclaimer: The Massachusetts Clean Energy Center (MassCEC) has not investigated, and expressly disclaims any duty to investigate, any company, product, service, process, procedure, design, or the like, which may be presented on the aforementioned websites. The presentation of these website links does not constitute endorsement, warranty, or guaranty, by MassCEC of any company, product, service, process, procedure, design, or the like. Te entire risk of any information presented is assumed by the user.

 

City County Company Designer/ Installer Name Email Phone Designer (VRF) Installer (VRF) Installer (Mini-Split)
Lunenburg Worcester A&R Mechanical, Inc. Peter Farnsworth adam.morton@a-rmechanical.com 978-790-3635   X  
Burlington Middlesex Air Purchases John Davison jdavison@airpurchases.com 508-272-1553 X    
Burlington Middlesex Air Purchases Tim Conrad tconrad@airpurchases.com 508-272-1553 X    
West Barnstable Barnstable AirSmart LLC Richard Tavano rktavano@comcast.net 508-280-0024     X
Sudbury Middlesex Allied Consulting Engineering Services Christiane Perrin christiane@alliedconsulting.net 978-443-7888 X    
Sudbury Middlesex Allied Consulting Engineering Services John Wood johnw@alliedconsulting.net 978-443-7888 X    
Sudbury Middlesex Allied Consulting Engineering Services Mike Zimmerman mikez@alliedconsulting.net 978-443-7888 X    
Sudbury Middlesex Allied Consulting Engineering Services Paul Laurence paul@alliedconsulting.net 978-443-7888 X    
Tewskbury Middlesex American Air, Inc Robert Guptill rob@americanairinc.com 978-640-8880     X
Manchester (NH) Hillsborough API of New Hampshire Daniel Smith dsmith@apiofnh.com 603-568-8509 X    
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Brian Hathon bhathon@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Joseph Gratta jgratta@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Mark Dion mdion@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Steve St. Ogne sogne@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X X
Weymouth Norfolk Atlantic Mechanical Wayne Hall whall@atlanticmechanical.com 781-331-1009   X X
Andover Essex B2Q Associates Janne Kairento jkairento@b2qassociates.com 978-210-7397 X    
Chicopee Hampden BG Mechanical Service Daniel Suse dsuse@bgmechanical.com 413-888-1500     X
Woburn Middlesex Capco Energy Supply Walter Byrnes walter@capcosupply.com 781-721-0303 X    
Dracut  Middlesex Caron Heating and Cooling Allen Willliamson karen@caronheatcool.com 978-452-2766     X
Dracut  Middlesex Caron Heating and Cooling Chris Caron karen@caronheatcool.com 978-452-2766     X
Dracut  Middlesex Caron Heating and Cooling Ryan Shaw karen@caronheatcool.com 978-452-2766     X
Hudson Middlesex Chaves Heating & A/C Andre Chaves andre@chaveshvac.com 978-562-5390     X
Pittsfield Berkshire Climate HVAC Richard Laureyns rlaureyns@climatehvac.com 413-684-5100 X X X
Pittsfield Berkshire Climate HVAC Stephen Wellington swellington@climatehvac.com 413-684-5100 X    
Colrain Franklin Climates by Pomeroy Samual Pomeroy climatesbypomeroy@gmail.com 413-522-4737   X X
Pittsfield Berkshire Comfort Control Mechanical Brad Morawski bradjmx4@gmail.com 413-269-3611 X X X
Pembroke Plymouth Commercial Boiler Systems Christian Ricardo service@snowmelters.com 774-381-9332   X  
Pembroke Plymouth Commercial Boiler Systems Jennifer Sisco jsisco@snowmelters.com 781-294-4437   X  
Boston Suffolk Commercial Construction Consulting Brian Kaplinger bkaplinger@c3boston.com 617-330-9390   X  
Johnston Province Continental Engineering Richard Dirocco sr@continentaleng.com 4012332665   X  
Cranston Province Creative Environment Corp Anthony Gray AGray@CEC-Engineering.com 401-438-7733 X    
Boston Suffolk Critical Systems  Evan J Miller emiller@criticalsystemsllc.com 617-308-9694 X    
Middlesex Malden Distributor Corporation of New England (DCNE) Patrick Sullivan psullivan@dcne.com 781-322-8804 X    
Peabody Essex DXS - New England Brian Keenan brian.keenan@dxseng.com 603-303-8933 X    
Peabody Essex DXS - New England Robert Ciampa robert.ciampa@dxseng.com 978-548-5356 X    
Canton Norfolk E.M. Duggan Mechanical Services Rick Robbins rrobbins@emduggan.com 781-364-5205   X X
Pittsfield Berkshire EDM, Inc Michael Puntin mpuntin@edm-ae.com 413-443-2374 X    
Malden Middlesex Evolved Mechanical Jason Moriarty office@evolvedmechanical.com 781-324-2560   X  
Dalton Berkshire Four Season Heating & Cooling Michael Laureyns mikel@4seasonshvacr.com   x    
Weymouth Norfolk Fred Williams, Inc Jim Sullivan jsullivan@fwilliams.com 781-961-1500 x311   X  
Springfield Hampden F.W. Webb Company Jeffrey Baird jeff.baird@fwwebb.com 413-222-8515 X    
South Deerfield Franklin Gates HVACR John Gates gateshvacr@hotmail.com 413-774-9482   X  
Lincoln (RI) Providence GEM Mechanical Services Patrick Caldarone pcaldarone@gemplumbing.com 401-830-7000   X  
Westfield Hampden Girard Heating and Cooling Robert Girard bob@girardheatcool.com 413-568-2946   X X
Wareham Plymouth Griffith & Vary, Inc. Wayne Mattson wmattson@griffithandvary.com 508-295-0050 X    
Burlington Middlesex Grinnell Mechanical Mike Grinnell mgrinnell@grinnellmech.com 781-273-1835   X X
Leverett Franklin Jamrog HVAC Inc. Daniel Shea nicole@jamroghvac.com 413-548-9024   X  
Chicopee Hampden Johnstone Supply John Silk john.silk@johnstonesupply.com 413-718-1721 X    
Haydenville Hampshire M.J. Moran Scott Cernak scernak@mjmoraninc.com 413-268-7251     X
Buzzards Bay Barnstable MJD Plumbing & Heating, Inc Mathew J DeMoranville mattdemoranville@mjdph.com 774-425-2039   X X
Quincy Norfolk MacDougall Plumbing & Mechanical Paul MacDougall pauljr@macdougallmechanical.com 617-698-6740   X  
Reading Middlesex Madden Services Neil Madden maddenservicesinc@outlook.com 878-858-9067   X  
Weymouth Norfolk N.B. Kenney Robert Garvey bgarvey@nbkenney.com 978-399-3706   X X
Tyngsboro Middlesex New England Cooling Towers Mark Amorelli marca@nectowers.com 508-889-3817   X  
Plymouth Plymouth Northstar Mechanical, Inc. Adam Loud scott@northstarhvac.net 508-888-3692   X  
Pittsfield Berkshire Pariseau Heating Inc. Stephen Wichmann stephen@pariseauheating.com 413-442-8516 X X  
Needham Norfolk Performance Air Conditioning Scott Redfield sred_7@msn.com 781-589-6240   X  
Natick Middlesex Pheonix Mechanical Steven Swinarski sswinarski@pheonixmechanical.com 774-571-5343   X  
Boston Suffolk PJ Kennedy & Sons Joeseph Smith joes@pjkennedy.com 617-446-8000   X  
Topsfield Essex Preferred Air Bob Smith bsmith910@hotmail.com 978-750-8282   X X
Webster Worcester Quail Services Bill Fongeallaz bilfon@aol.com 228-239-5558   X  
Webster Worcester Quail Services James Parent jamesparent@quailservice 508-713-5808   X  
Medford Middlesex Ranco Enterprises Mark Scarfo markscarfo@rancoenterprises.com 781-396-7178     X
Medford Middlesex Ranco Enterprises Matt Modaff mmodaff@rancoenterprises.com 781-396-7178     X
Andover Essex RDK Engineers Nicholas Hill nhill@rdkengineers.com 978-296-6255 X    
Andover Essex RDK Engineers Phil Marcotty pmarcotty@rdkengineers.com 978-296-6255 X    
North Billerica Middlesex RH Young Cooling and Heating Tim Shiner sales@Rhyoung.com 978-663-8875     X
North Reading Middlesex Richard Skiffington Consultants & Design Rick Skiffington ricks@charm.com 781-760-7775 X X X
Gardner Worchester Royal Steam Heater Co. Douglas Dansereau kdembek@royalsteamheater.com 978-632-0770   X  
Westwood Norfolk RST Thermal/ TE2 Engineering, LLC Ross Trethewey ross@te2engineering.com 781-334-8323 X    
Greenfield Franklin Sandri Energy Joel Tognarelli jtognarelli@sandri.com 413-772-2121   X X
Millbury Worcester Seaman Engineering Corp. Kevin Seaman kevin@seamanengineers.com 508-865-1400 X    
Wilmington Middlesex S.G. Torrice Co. Daniel Carroll III dcarroll@sgtorrice.com 603-505-6636 X    
Hanover Plymouth South Shore Engineering Team Inc. Garett Pennucci ssetinc@aol.com 781-331-4660 X    
South Yarmouth Barnstable  South Shore Heating &Cooling Ron Almeida ron.almeida@southshoreheatingcooling.com 508-398-6901      
New Haven (CT) New Haven Star Supply Company Warren Bean wbean@star-supply.com 413-329-2013 X    
Belchertown Hampshire Swift River HVAC James F. Bachand Jr. swift4123@aol.com 413-323-4123   X X
Woburn Middlesex VAV International, Inc. Patrick Manning pmanning@vavint.com 781-935-7228 X    
Chatham Barnstable W. V. Whiteley, Inc. Donald Hebert dhebert@wvwhiteley.com 508-945-1100   X  
Boston Suffolk WSP Matthew Hayes matthew.hayes@wsp.com 617-210-1600 X    
Boston Suffolk WSP Michael Peterson michael.peterson@wsp.com 617-210-1600 X    
Boston Suffolk WSP Nicholas Chiarelli nicholas.chiarelli@wsp.com 617-210-1697 X